Coffee County Veteran Groups Honor First Responders

The annual Patriot Day Ceremony was held on Manchester Square Friday, September 11th, hosted by the Coffee County Veterans Association (CCVA). Rather than single out individuals, local veteran’s organizations honored the service and dedication of all our local first responder departments.

The event included a commemoration honoring the victims of Sept 11th as well as an art competition by Coffee County High School students. Students submitted 104 entries for judging: of those, 36 were awarded First, Second and Third Place in ten categories.

Approximately 300 attendees were present to show their gratitude to the everyday heroes who live, work and play among us; and who work tirelessly to protect us.

American Legion Gold Star Post 78 presented awards to Hickerson Station Volunteer Fire Department and Manchester Police Department. The American Legion Auxiliary awarded North Coffee Volunteer Fire Department.

DAV (Disabled American Veterans) Chapter 90 presented awards to New Union Volunteer Fire Department and Tennessee Highway Patrol. DAV Auxiliary awarded Summitville Volunteer Fire Department.

Marine Corps League Detachment 1128 presented awards to Coffee County EMS and the Coffee County 911 Communications Center.

VFW (Veterans of Foreign Wars) All American Post 10904 presented awards to Coffee County Sheriff’s Department, Hillsboro Volunteer Fire Department and Manchester Fire Department. VFW Auxiliary awarded Coffee County Rescue Squad.

Students were randomly assigned first responder units or military branches and instructed to include several facts about their topic, or September 11, 2001 in general, in the artwork. All submissions were judged by school faculty and CCVA members. Awards were determined for the top three students in each topic. Winners are:


1. Resa Smith

2. Aaliyah Wieland

3. Sophia Burton


1. Lindsey Smith

2. Jenna Pierce

3. Shalyn Veicht

Air Force:

  1. Alex Hudson
  2. Mariana Gonzalez
  3. Reagan House

Marine Corps:

  1. Rosy Rios
  2. Keri Gault
  3. Natalie Shawl

Coast Guard:

  1. Tyler Imhoff
  2. Leonardo Rivera
  3. Kaylah Giesemann


  1. Kiara Betke
  2. Natividad Barrera
  3. Zora Haney


  1. Zoe Mills
  2. Annie Fletcher
  3. Oliver Atkins


  1. Olivia Howell
  2. Skyler Hill
  3. Hope Colleran

9/11/2001 Art competition:

  1. Kelti Hamrick
  2. Dominick Moore
  3. Landen Booth

Honorable Mention:

Leonardo Rosales

Shiane Stephens

Savannah Blackburn

Ryleigh Montgomery

Trenton Scrivnor

Chaeli Perez

River Bradley

Lillian McGee

Lucky Knott

Lucky Knott

One of Southern Tennessee's most experienced and recognized news broadcasters and play-by-play sportscasters. News and Sports Director for Rooster 101.5 FM, 93.9 The Duck and Whiskey Country 105.1, and 95.9. He is currently the play-by-play voice of the Coffee County Red Raiders (31 years) on The Rooster 101.5 and can be heard M-F broadcasting our local news. Lucky has done play-by-play for 4,002 (and counting) sports events on Radio & TV. He also served four years as the Public Information Officer for the Coffee Co. Sheriff's Dept. and taught Radio/TV for six years at Grundy County High School.

Related Posts

javhdhay dark haired babe anal fucked pov by rocco siffredi. xvideos3
Scroll to Top